Diigo Exploration

Diigo Exploration

  1.  17 Point Checklist for Your Freelance Services Website  http://www.seanogle.com/entrepreneurship/freelance-website-checklist

This article was pretty interesting.  Some of the things related to my business and some do not.  When it said do not use a slider because it won’t be a photo heavy business, that was a red flag.  I am a photo and video heavy business.  Almost all video now.  There were a few other good points like having a contact form instead of just an email address.  I also liked the point about having a branded email address, but I did not really like the suggestion it made for making that happen.  I think there is a way to make a branded email forward to gmail.  I just like the way Gmail functions, and is integrated with Google Drive, etc.  I also liked the suggestion about having two photos of myself.  I need to work on that since I am always the one behind the camera.

2.  8 Common Design Mistakes (and How to Avoid Them)  http://www.shutterstock.com/blog/8-common-design-mistakes-and-how-to-avoid-them

Also an  interesting article.  The point about symmetry is well taken.  I look at my website and the the symmetrical rows of video players and wonder if is too basic.  Then again, each thumbnail on the video screens themselves are different.  I am interested in professor feedback on this point.  My site is http://www.DBSpro.biz
I also like the point about white space.  I make sure not to clutter my website too much.  I also use this rule when I make closing screens with contact information for my clients.  Font overkill is something I learned to avoid along time ago, and it is nice to have suggestions from articles like this of generally not exceeding two fonts per page.   Also not going crazy with the color changes for contrast is a good rule of thumb as well.

3.  How and Why Icons Improve Your Web Design
http://blog.usabilla.com/how-and-why-icons-improve-you-web-design/

I like this article a lot.  Icons can support the text by providing a visual road map for the reader to know where to stop for the information they are looking for.  It supports the text very well that way.  Along with making the page more interesting than having text only.  There was a similar statement in this article to the Lynda.com lesson on writing for the web when that lesson discussed sign posts.  Icons can easily act as such.  It is interesting that this article says very few icons can stand alone, which in general I think is true.  Then at the bottom of the post are icons for social media with no text.  People just know where those icons will take them.  As well, I think the shopping cart icon is pretty self explanatory.

Leave a Reply

